Shostakovich 1

Friday, January 12, 2018 10:30AM
Powell Hall

Shostakovich 1
On Sale Soon

David Robertson, conductor
Augustin Hadelich, violin

ADÈS Powder Her Face Suite
BRITTEN Violin Concerto

Lauded by the St. Louis Post-Dispatch for his “playing of brilliance, gorgeous tone and breathtaking facility,” German violinist Augustin Hadelich performs Britten’s Violin Concerto, a work of noble themes and sinister rhythms. Written when the composer was just eighteen, Shostakovich’s First Symphony mesmerizes with dry wit, displaying the young composer’s exciting and enduring hallmarks that fascinate to this day.