Bell Performs Bruch

Friday, November 23, 2018 8:00PM
Powell Hall

Bell Performs Bruch

Choose from the list below to jump directly to another offering of
Bell Performs Bruch

Michael Francis, conductor
Joshua Bell, violin

ELGAR In the South (Alassio)
BRUCH Violin Concerto No. 1
VAUGHAN WILLIAMS A London Symphony (Symphony No. 2)

Critically-acclaimed violinist Joshua Bell takes the stage for Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1, a work displaying passionate technical bravado.

  • Violinist Joshua Bell made his Carnegie Hall debut with the SLSO at the age of 17, performing Bruch's Violin Concerto No. 1.
  • Violinist Joshua Bell has strong ties to St. Louis as he debuted with the orchestra in 1985 on a European tour.
  • Bruch’s Violin Concerto No. 1 showcases the composer’s affinity for folk music showcasing the soloist’s passionate and virtuosic display of technical bravado.
  • Vaughan Williams’ Second Symphony displays a portrait of London life from quiet, gray skies and misty mornings to the bustle of the city.