Mahler’s Ninth

Saturday, March 2, 2019 8:00PM
Powell Hall

Mahler’s Ninth
On Sale Soon

Peter Oundjian, conductor
Lars Vogt, piano

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 21, K. 467, “Elvira Madigan”
MAHLER Symphony No. 9

One of Mahler’s most deeply personal scores unfolds with his Ninth Symphony. Peter Oundjian returns to conduct a work of extraordinary and lyrical beauty combined with shocking surprises. Lars Vogt returns to perform Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21, a piece known for its stunningly simple and memorable melodies.

  • Composer Alban Berg described the first movement of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony: “It expresses love of this earth, for nature; the longing to live on it in peace, to enjoy it completely, to the very heart of one’s being.”
  • Mahler’s Ninth Symphony was completed in 1910 when composer was Music Director of the New York Philharmonic, the only American orchestra older than the SLSO.
  • Given the moniker “Elvira Madigan” after its appearance in the 1967 Swedish film of the same title, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 21 is known throughout the world for its stunningly simple and memorable melodies.